Homemade Flapjacks

A friend recently told me that I had really arrived in London now that I was making homemade flapjacks. I have to admit that when I first arrived here I wasn’t sure what a flapjack was–but if you are like me and love oatmeal cookies, cinnamon, dried fruits, and tasty treats, this will soon become a new favorite of yours. It also provides a great snack that doesn’t have any refined sugar. It is definitely a pregnancy must for me. So mix up, eat up and enjoy!

flapjack

The basis for this recipe I found in Deliciously Ella (a great new cookbook that I highly recommend). I have doctored it up and come up with the following:

  • 3 cups of oats
  • 1/2 cup finely hopped nuts (I like a mixture of cashews, almonds and macadamia)
  • 8 medjool dates, chopped in small pieces
  • 6 dried figs or 1/4 cup dried apples, chopped in small pieces
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup crushed corn flakes
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 6 tbs maple syrup
  • 6 tbs nut butter (my favorites are raw almond butter or hazelnut/raisin butter)
  • 4 tbs coconut oil (and more for greasing the pan)
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C or 356 F
  2. Grease a 9 x 9 baking pan with coconut butter
  3. Place oats in a mixing bowl with crushed corn flakes, nuts, chopped fruit and cinnamon. Mix together.
  4. In a large frying pan heat the mashed ripe bananas, maple syrup, nut butter and coconut oil over low heat until it forms a thick liquid like substance.
  5. Mix the heated mixture into the oat mixture. Mix until there is an even-ish consistency.
  6. Place mixture into the greased pan and smooth into the pan with a spatula to create an even, pressed layer of flapjack.
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the top is just starting to brown.
  8. Remove from the oven and cool before slicing up the flapjack squares. If the flapjacks look overdone pour a little bit of juice or water on top to moisten the mixture.
  9. Eat up!

Note: You can use any dried fruits you have on hand if you don’t have (or want to by the recommended fruits). For example, you could also try raisins, cranberries and/or apricots.

Leave a comment