Tangy Cashew Miso Dressing

My husband and I recently decided that the key to vegan eating is a good sauce. A tasty sauce makes my craving for cheese disappear (although I still do indulge here and there). I have to say I was a bit skeptical of combining miso with cashew butter but it does wonders. I think (and Corey thinks) this sauce is one of the best I have made thus far. Thank you to Amy Chaplin for this one (although I doctored it a bit). It gets even better as it sits–but it won’t last for long as it compliments most meals. It may become a once a week staple in our house. Add it to lentils, cooked veggies, grains… just about anything and it will add a tasty kick.

IMG_3053-540x422

(image from Amy Chaplin’s website)

Tangy Cashew Miso Dressing

(makes about 3/4 of a cup — I double the recipe to have extra on hand for the rest of the week)

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons white miso
  • 2 tablespoons raw cashew butter
  • 3 tablespoons filtered water, plus more to thin out if needed
  • 2 tablespoons brown rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon mirin
  • ½ clove garlic
  • 1-inch piece scallion, roughly chopped
  • ¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • pinch of freshly ground pepper
  1. Add everything EXCEPT THE OIL to a blender and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust as necessary.
  2. Pour in the oil and blend until thick and creamy.

Note: Keep this in an airtight container in the fridge and it will last about 5 days.

Leave a Reply

