Black Rice Salad with Turmeric Dressing

I found this fabulous dressing/sauce on one of my favorite food blogs: Coconut and Quinoa. I used real turmeric and dyed my fingers and nails yellow… but it was well worth it. And who really cares anyway? This dressing topped a basic veggie/rice dish and added a nice kick to a typical go-to meal. Corey said it reminded him of a carrot/miso/ginger dressing I used to like at Dojo in NYC-our date night spot 8 years ago.

For the salad, I used black rice for the basic grain base (the black color was a nice contrast to the bright orange/yellow of the dressing). Into the rice I dumped whatever veggies I could find in our fridge: shredded carrot and brussel sprouts, cooked squash and sweet potato, zuchinni, and fresh parsley. For a little extra protein, I added some fried tofu into the mix.

The dish was well received (both by Corey and our visiting guest, Marco (an Italian keyboardist who is here visiting ROLI)). And I have enough dressing left over use as a dip tomorrow night…

Below is an image of the dressing from the Coconut and Quinoa blog taken by Stephen Johnson. Mine came out a bit more orange. I also need to find a better blender as the carrots made it slightly chunky and think.

Image

 

Turmeric dressing

This list of ingredients is long, but once you have it all in the blender it’s ready in one minute and will keep for up to 4 days in the fridge. Although I’m sure this can be made with dried turmeric, it won’t have the same bright flavor. I would start with ½ teaspoon dried turmeric and increase to taste.

Makes about 2 cups

  • 2 inch piece peeled and chopped fresh turmeric (watch out… you will become bright yellow)
  • 1 teaspoon chopped peeled ginger
  • 2 tablespoons cashew butter (I didn’t have any on hand so I used some raw cashews and a teaspoon of almond butter)
  • 2 medium carrots, roughly chopped (1 ½ cups)
  • ½ clove garlic
  • 1 teaspoon unpasteurized white miso (I used a different miso and it was fine)
  • 2 tablespoons unpasteurized apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons water, plus more to thin out
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon mirin
  • 1 teaspoon tamari
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon raw honey, optional (I used it and it evened out the taste)

Place all ingredients in an upright blender and blend until smooth. Add more water to get desired consistency. Store in a jar in the fridge for 3 to 4 days.

Black Rice Salad

  • 2 cups Black Rice (or whatever rice/grain you have on hand)
  • Assortment of veggies (I used: shredded carrot and brussel sprouts, cooked squash and sweet potato, zuchinni, and fresh parsley)

Mix it all together once cooked, shredded, cut, etc. Pour the dressing on top. Taste and season.

NOTE: We also used this dressing on a mixture of avocado, radish, slivered almonds, fresh cut basil/parsley and salt and pepper. It was excellent.

Here is another image from Stephen Johnson of a version of the salad… again take whatever you find in your fridge or garden. You won’t be disappointed!

Image

Leave a Reply

